Teleprompter / Compare / vs Prompt+

Cutvey Teleprompter vs Prompt+

Both cost $19.99 once with no subscription. Prompt+ has a free tier for short scripts, runs on older systems and imports from cloud drives. Cutvey Teleprompter adds the Apple Watch remote, recording under the lens, sessions of several devices with live edits, screenplay import and captions for the edit.

By Cutvey · Updated November 4, 2026

On this page

Prices and features checked November 2, 2026, on each maker's own page or its US App Store listing.

Two apps at the same price

Prompt+ Teleprompter, from Norton Five Ltd, is the rival we take most seriously on price, because it charges what we charge: one in-app purchase of $19.99, with no subscription. Its listing says plainly that the app "does NOT require a monthly or annual subscription". It runs on iPhone, iPad and Mac, scrolls by voice, mirrors for a rig and works with Bluetooth remotes, pedals and game controllers. And it is free for scripts up to 750 characters, which we are not.

So the honest question is what each $19.99 buys. This page tries to answer it without leaning on either side.

What each one costs

ProductPrice as printedWhere
Cutvey Teleprompter$19.99 once, in the US (local prices elsewhere). iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch remote.App Store
Prompt+ TeleprompterFree for scripts up to 750 characters; one in-app purchase, "Premium Teleprompter", $19.99App Store, id1483052809
Teleprompter for Video (also Norton Five)Subscription: Premium Monthly $8.99 or $9.99, Premium Annual $29.99 to $44.99 as Apple lists themApp Store, id1139307843

Prompt+'s listing does not say whether its purchase is shared through Family Sharing; Apple's general note says some may be. Cutvey Teleprompter's purchase is not.

Side by side

Cutvey TeleprompterPrompt+
Price$19.99 once$19.99 once
Free to tryNoYes, scripts up to 750 characters
iPhone and iPadiOS and iPadOS 17 or lateriOS and iPadOS 15 or later
MacmacOS 14 or later, same purchasemacOS 11 or later
Apple Watch remoteYesNot listed
Voice scrollingVoice follow, on the device, in the script's language where Apple has an on-device modelVoice recognition scrolling; its version notes say over 50 languages
MirroringBoth axes, plus a clean feed with its own mirror switchesYes
RecordingiPhone and iPad, 1080p or 4K at 24, 25 or 30 fpsNot mentioned on its listing
RemotesWatch, keys and pedals you can remap, presentation clickers, media remotes, game controllers, any browser, Contour Shuttle on the MacBluetooth presentation remote, foot pedal, game controller, keyboard, another Mac or iOS device
Several devices on one scriptUp to 8 by default as remote, monitor or editor; live edits; Make HostAnother Mac or iOS device as a remote
Video callsMac Call mode under the built-in camera, with Hide from screen sharingZoom beside the script on iPad and Mac
ImportsWord, PDF text, PowerPoint speaker notes, Final Draft, Fountain, RTF, textWord (.doc, .docx), text, RTF, PDF from Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud or OneDrive
Run ordersYesNot stated
Cue speeds and countdownA speed per cue; a countdown on every device's clockCountdown
Captions and markers.srt timed from the scroll; Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve markersNot stated
Track recordNew, no ratings yet319 US ratings on November 2, 2026

What the same $19.99 buys

If you read alone from one device, the two are close. Both mirror, both scroll by voice, both take a pedal or a clicker, and both run on a Mac. Prompt+ reaches further back (iOS 15 and macOS 11), and its cloud-drive import is handy. Its free tier also lets you try it on a short script before you pay, which is a fair advantage.

The difference shows when more than one person or device is in the job. Cutvey Teleprompter turns your other devices into a working crew: an iPad in the rig, a phone as a monitor for the camera operator, a MacBook where a producer types fixes into the live script, a Watch on the presenter's wrist, a laptop browser for whoever is running the speed. It records the take under the lens on iPhone and iPad. And it ends with files for the edit: an .srt in the script's own words and the cue points as markers.

One real job, both ways

An actor self-tapes two scenes for a casting at home. The sides arrive as a Final Draft file, a friend reads the other part off camera, and the tape is due by morning.

With Cutvey Teleprompter. The actor opens the .fdx and the scene headings, characters and dialogue come in styled. The iPhone records in 4K at 24 frames a second with the back camera on a tripod, and the script sits in a small strip beside the lens. The friend's iPad joins the session as a remote and drives the scroll, so the actor can keep his hands out of the frame and his eyes near the lens. They run it four times; each take lands in Photos.

With Prompt+. The actor would export the sides to Word or PDF first, since Final Draft is not among Prompt+'s formats, then read with voice scrolling or a pedal. Prompt+'s listing does not mention recording, so the camera app or another app would record, with the script on a second device. The friend could drive it from another iOS device as a remote.

For this job Cutvey Teleprompter is the better tool. For a one-device rehearsal of a short speech, Prompt+ would do it well, and its free tier might cover it.

Voice scrolling: what we can and cannot tell you

Prompt+'s version notes say its voice scrolling supports over 50 languages. We could not read from its pages whether recognition runs on the device or needs a connection, so we make no claim either way.

Cutvey Teleprompter's voice follow listens in the script's own language using Apple's speech recognition, on the device only, with no server to fall back to. That means it needs no connection and nothing you say leaves the device. It also means it works only where Apple ships an on-device model for that language on that device. If yours has none, the switch says so plainly and nothing is sent anywhere. It is not available in Slovenian, Lithuanian, Latvian, Estonian, Bulgarian or Farsi. Which languages voice follow understands.

The two also behave differently while you read. Cutvey's voice follow starts from the speed you set and nudges it to match you, four times a second. You press play and stop. If you go quiet it eases down and waits for you, and an aside or a cough leaves it alone.

Remotes, in more detail

Both apps take a Bluetooth presentation clicker, a foot pedal, a keyboard and a game controller. Here is what is different.

  • The keys are yours in Cutvey Teleprompter. Every key can be changed, and the learn pages for a clicker and a pedal light up the row for whatever button you press, so you can see what it sends before you assign it. Game controllers run on a fixed map.
  • Media remotes. A camera shutter remote or the button on a pair of headphones can drive Cutvey Teleprompter once you switch media remotes on.
  • A browser. Any laptop or phone on the same network can run the speed and the cues from a web page, with a four-digit code. It never shows the script.
  • A jog wheel. On the Mac, a Contour ShuttlePro v2 or ShuttleXpress runs the scroll the way an edit controller runs a deck.
  • The Watch, on the presenter's wrist, with the time left.

When to choose Prompt+

  • Your scripts are short, and the free tier for 750 characters is enough.
  • Your iPhone or iPad runs iOS 15 or 16, or your Mac runs macOS 11 to 13.
  • You pull scripts from Google Drive, Dropbox or OneDrive.
  • You want voice scrolling in a language Apple's on-device recognition does not cover on your device.

Where Cutvey Teleprompter falls short

  • No free tier. Prompt+ lets you try it; we do not.
  • Newer systems only. iOS and iPadOS 17 and macOS 14 or later.
  • No cloud-drive import or Google Docs. Open files from the Files app, or export Google Docs to Word first.
  • Fewer voice languages, possibly. Voice follow needs Apple's on-device model for the script's language on that device, and is not available in Slovenian, Lithuanian, Latvian, Estonian, Bulgarian or Farsi.
Where Cutvey Teleprompter leads
  • The Watch remote.
  • Sessions of up to eight devices by default, with monitor and editor roles and live edits that keep the read line still.
  • Recording under the lens on iPhone and iPad, with a microphone chip that warns you if an external mic drops.
  • Screenplays and decks: Final Draft, Fountain and PowerPoint speaker notes.
  • The edit: captions and markers from the run.
  • The Mac: Call mode under the camera, a clean feed window and the Contour ShuttlePro.

Remotes for a teleprompter ยท Teleprompter for video calls

Other comparisons

Questions people ask

Is Prompt+ the same price as Cutvey Teleprompter?

Yes. Both are one in-app purchase at $19.99 in the US with no subscription, checked November 2, 2026. Prompt+ is free for scripts up to 750 characters; Cutvey Teleprompter has no free tier.

Which one has an Apple Watch remote?

Cutvey Teleprompter. Its Watch app starts and stops the scroll, changes speed with the Digital Crown and jumps cues, through the paired iPhone. Prompt+'s listing does not include a Watch app.