Teleprompter / Compare / Best teleprompter apps
Best teleprompter apps
For presenters and shooters on iPhone, iPad and Mac, Cutvey Teleprompter is our pick: $19.99 once for every Apple device, with mirroring, voice follow, the Watch remote and sessions included. Rivals win on free tiers, hands-free voice start, Windows and Android, and editing, and we say which below.
Nine teleprompter apps and one piece of hardware, with prices as printed on November 2, 2026.
On this page
Prices and features checked November 2, 2026, on each maker's own page or its US App Store listing. We make Cutvey Teleprompter, so read our picks with that in mind: every rival fact below is from the maker's own page or listing, and every place a rival does better is said plainly.
Our picks, by the job
| Job | Our pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Presenting or shooting on Apple devices | Cutvey Teleprompter | $19.99 once for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch remote, with mirroring, voice follow, sessions and every remote included |
| A free prompter on a phone | Teleprompter (Teleprompter Apps Ltd), free tier | Unlimited scripts, recording and cloud sync for free |
| Voice that starts and stops on its own | PromptSmart | VoiceTrack starts, stops and holds your place |
| Android, Windows or the web | Teleprompter.com or Speakflow | Both run beyond Apple devices |
| Script to posted video in one app | BIGVU or Teleprompter.com | Recording, editing, captions and posting |
| A desk prompter with no tablet | Elgato Prompter | The screen and glass in one box |
| Recording on the Mac itself | Power Prompter | A Mac app that records |
| A short script, free | Prompt+ | Free up to 750 characters |
What they cost
| App | Maker | Price as printed |
|---|---|---|
| Cutvey Teleprompter | Cutvey LLC | $19.99 once (US); included per seat in Cutvey Solo, Pro and Studio |
| PromptSmart Pro / PromptSmart+ | Belleau Technologies | $29.99 app; PromptSmart+ $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year and up |
| Teleprompter / Teleprompter Pro | Teleprompter Apps Ltd | Free tier; Pro $59.99 a year or $159.99 forever |
| Teleprompter.com | Teleprompter LLC | Free tier; Pro $19.99 a month, or $7.5 a month billed yearly; Max and Team from $24.99 a month billed yearly |
| BIGVU | BIGVU | Free tier; $12 to $239 a month |
| Elgato Prompter | Corsair | $299.99 hardware; Camera Hub software free |
| Prompt+ | Norton Five | Free up to 750 characters; $19.99 once |
| Teleprompter for Video | Norton Five | $8.99 to $9.99 a month, or $29.99 to $44.99 a year |
| Speakflow | CG3 Media | Free (10 minutes of voice scrolling a month); Plus $15 a month and Studio $99 a month, billed yearly |
| Power Prompter | Suborbital Softworks | $49.99 on the Mac App Store; a free Express edition |
| Captions | Captions, LLC | From $9.99 a month or $64.99 a year; a teleprompter inside a video editor |
Side by side
The app-store leaders
| Cutvey Teleprompter | PromptSmart | Teleprompter Pro | Teleprompter.com | BIGVU | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone and iPad | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Mac | Native, same purchase | iPad app; Studio Edition on PromptSmart+ | Separate Mac app | Yes | iPad app |
| Apple Watch | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No |
| Windows, Android, web | Browser remote only | Yes (PromptSmart+) | Browser remote | Android, web | Android, web |
| Voice scrolling | Trims speed, on the device | Starts and stops | Not stated | Pauses and resumes | Not confirmed |
| Mirroring | Included | Yes | Pro | Pro | Not stated |
| Records video | iPhone and iPad | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Several devices on one script | Up to 8 | Remote app, Control Room | Remotes, Pro | Remote device | Not stated |
| Edit markers for the cut | Premiere Pro and Resolve | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free to use | No | Lite | Yes | Yes | Yes |
Hardware, the same-price rival and the Mac and browser picks
| Cutvey Teleprompter | Elgato Prompter | Prompt+ | Speakflow | Power Prompter | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| iPhone and iPad | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No |
| Mac | Native, same purchase | Yes | Yes | Yes | Native |
| Apple Watch | Yes | No | No | No | No |
| Windows, Android, web | Browser remote only | Windows, Android | No | Windows, web | No |
| Voice scrolling | Trims speed, on the device | Voice Sync, needs RTX 2060 or M1 | Yes | Flow Mode | Not stated |
| Mirroring | Included | Built-in glass | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Records video | iPhone and iPad | No | Not mentioned | Yes | On the Mac |
| Several devices on one script | Up to 8 | Stream Deck | Remote device | Remote sync | iPhone remote |
| Edit markers for the cut | Premiere Pro and Resolve | No | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free to use | No | n/a | Short scripts | Yes | Express |
Choose in four questions
- Which devices will hold the script? If every one of them is an iPhone, iPad or Mac, the field narrows to apps that do all three well. If anyone reads on Windows or Android, start with Teleprompter.com, PromptSmart+ or Speakflow.
- Will you read behind glass? Then mirroring and a clean feed to the display under the glass matter. Check whether they are in the price or in a paid tier. In Cutvey Teleprompter they are in the one purchase; on Teleprompter Pro and Teleprompter.com they are paid features.
- Who else is in the room? A presenter alone needs a remote at most. A crew wants a monitor for the camera operator, a producer who can fix a line without walking over, and a remote that is not the presenter's hand. That is what Cutvey's sessions are for.
- What happens after the take? If the same app should edit and post, look at BIGVU, Teleprompter.com or Captions. If you already edit in Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Final Cut Pro or CapCut, you want clean takes and files for the timeline.
Then look at how you want to pay. A subscription makes sense when it buys a service you use every month. A prompter you open on shoot days is easier to own outright.
Why we rank Cutvey Teleprompter first for Apple devices
Most people who search for a teleprompter app own an iPhone, often an iPad, and a Mac. On that set of devices no other app we looked at gives you this much for one price:
- Every Apple screen. iPhone, iPad and a native Mac app on one $19.99 purchase, with the Apple Watch remote. Most rivals either charge again for the Mac or run their iPad app there.
- Nothing held back. Mirroring, the clean feed, voice follow and every remote are in the purchase. On several rivals each of those is a paid tier.
- A crew in your pocket. Up to eight devices by default on one script, as remote, monitor or editor, and a host that can hand the session over mid-take.
- The edit. Captions in the script's own words and markers for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve.
- Privacy. No account, no AI, voice follow on the device, scripts in your own iCloud.
Where others win
- Free use. Teleprompter Apps Ltd's free tier, PromptSmart Lite, Prompt+ for short scripts, Speakflow and BIGVU can all be used without paying. Cutvey Teleprompter cannot.
- Hands-free start. PromptSmart, Teleprompter.com and Speakflow all say their voice features pause and resume the scroll. Ours trims the speed once you press play.
- Beyond Apple. Teleprompter.com, PromptSmart+, Speakflow and Elgato cover Windows or Android or both.
- Editing. BIGVU, Teleprompter.com, Teleprompter for Video and Captions edit and caption after the take.
- Internet collaboration. Speakflow, Teleprompter.com Team and PromptSmart+ Team work across the internet. Cutvey's sessions run on your local network.
- Track record. The leaders have between 11,000 and 36,000 US ratings each. Version 1.0 of ours has none yet.
The others, in brief
PromptSmart
The name most people link with voice scrolling. VoiceTrack starts, stops and holds your place, and PromptSmart+ adds Windows, Android and a web control room. Full comparison.
Teleprompter Pro, formerly Teleprompter Premium
The most-rated pure teleprompter, with a real free tier, Family Sharing and a stated Elgato Prompter fit on the Mac. Mirroring, the clean feed and most remotes are Pro. Full comparison.
Teleprompter.com
A subscription studio across iOS, Android, Mac, web and Watch that also edits, captions, streams and rephrases lines. Full comparison.
BIGVU
A video-marketing suite with a prompter inside, plus AI avatars, voice cloning and posting. Full comparison.
Elgato Prompter
Hardware: a 9-inch screen and 70/30 glass in one box at $299.99, driven over USB-C from a Windows, Mac or Android computer, with Camera Hub software and a Stream Deck plugin. Its Voice Sync needs an NVIDIA RTX 2060 or newer, or Apple M1 or newer. Choose it if you want a desk prompter with no tablet in the rig. Cutvey Teleprompter is software; we have not tested it on an Elgato Prompter and make no claim that it fits.
Prompt+
The rival at our own price, $19.99 once, with a free tier for short scripts and support for older systems. Full comparison.
Speakflow
Browser-first, with apps for Mac, Windows, iPhone and iPad, Flow Mode voice scrolling, real-time collaboration, an overlay for Zoom and Meet, and an API. Choose it if a distributed team writes in the browser and presenters read on their own laptops.
Teleprompter for Video
Norton Five's subscription recorder, with 15,277 US ratings, an Apple Watch app, editing, captions from the recording's timings and Android. Choose it if you mostly record yourself on a phone and want edits in the same app.
Power Prompter
A native Mac prompter at $49.99 that records on the Mac, drives several displays and takes an iPhone remote. Choose it if you only ever prompt and record on one Mac in a studio.
Captions
A subscription AI video editor with a teleprompter for recording in the app. Choose it if the edit is the product and the prompter is a convenience.
How we checked
We read each maker's own pricing page and its US App Store listing on November 2, 2026, and took rating counts from Apple's public lookup the same day. "Not stated" means we found nothing either way on those pages. We describe our own app from its source code. If something here is out of date, tell us and we will correct it.
More
- What Cutvey Teleprompter costs, in full
- All comparisons
- Teleprompter for the Mac
- Teleprompter rig setup
Questions people ask
What is the best teleprompter app for iPhone and iPad?
For presenting and shooting on Apple devices we rank Cutvey Teleprompter first: $19.99 once for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch, with mirroring, voice follow, recording and sessions included. If you need a free app, Teleprompter Apps Ltd's free tier is the strongest; if you need voice that starts and stops on its own, PromptSmart.
Which teleprompter apps have no subscription?
Cutvey Teleprompter ($19.99 once), Prompt+ (one in-app purchase), Teleprompter Pro's forever option, Power Prompter on the Mac and PromptSmart Pro's up-front price, which has optional subscriptions beside it. The prices, as printed on November 2, 2026, are in the table above.
Which teleprompter app works on Windows or Android?
Teleprompter.com, PromptSmart+ and Speakflow, and Elgato's Camera Hub with its Prompter hardware. Cutvey Teleprompter runs on Apple devices; any browser can drive it as a remote.