Teleprompter / Compare / vs PromptSmart
Cutvey Teleprompter vs PromptSmart
PromptSmart's VoiceTrack starts and stops with your voice, and PromptSmart+ runs on Windows and Android. Cutvey Teleprompter costs $19.99 once for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch remote, trims its speed to your voice once you press play, and adds sessions, live edits and captions for the edit.
On this page
Prices and features checked November 2, 2026, on each maker's own page or its US App Store listing.
The short version
PromptSmart made voice scrolling famous. Its VoiceTrack feature listens and moves the script as you talk, starting and stopping with you, and it has the longest record of any voice prompter on the App Store, with 11,983 US ratings for PromptSmart Pro on November 2, 2026. If your whole reason for a prompter is to never touch it, PromptSmart is built around that.
Cutvey Teleprompter is built around the shoot. One $19.99 purchase covers iPhone, iPad, a native Mac app and the Apple Watch remote, with voice follow, mirroring, recording, sessions and every remote included. Voice follow is narrower than VoiceTrack on purpose: you press play, and it trims the speed to your read. In return you get a prompter that several devices can run together, that a producer can edit while you read, and that hands captions and edit markers to the cut.
What each one costs
| Product | Price as printed | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Cutvey Teleprompter | $19.99 once, in the US (local prices elsewhere). Free to download. Covers iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch remote. | App Store |
| PromptSmart Pro (iOS) | $29.99 up front, plus in-app purchases "PromptSmart Pro Extended" $3.99 and "PromptSmart Extended" $34.99 | App Store listing |
| PromptSmart+ Starter | $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year | promptsmart.com/pricing |
| PromptSmart+ Team | $19.99 a month or $199.99 a year | promptsmart.com/pricing |
| PromptSmart+ Enterprise | Contact them | promptsmart.com/pricing |
| PromptSmart Lite | Free, one script at a time | App Store listing |
PromptSmart Pro's listing also describes the Extended subscription at $1.99 a month or $19.99 a year after a trial, which does not match the in-app prices Apple prints beside it. Ask PromptSmart which applies before you buy. PromptSmart+ is a separate subscription that adds Android, a Studio Edition for Windows and Mac, and web editing and control.
Over three years of yearly billing, PromptSmart+ Starter comes to $299.97. Cutvey Teleprompter is still $19.99 then, and the purchase covers every Apple device on the account.
Side by side
| Cutvey Teleprompter | PromptSmart | |
|---|---|---|
| Price model | $19.99 once | $29.99 app plus an optional subscription, or PromptSmart+ from $9.99 a month |
| iPhone and iPad | Yes | Yes |
| Mac | A native Mac app, same purchase | The iPad app on Apple silicon Macs; PromptSmart+ adds a Studio Edition |
| Windows, Android, web | A browser can be a remote, never the prompter | Yes, through PromptSmart+ |
| Apple Watch remote | Yes, through the paired iPhone | Not listed |
| Voice scrolling | Voice follow trims the speed you set. You press play and stop. | VoiceTrack starts and stops with your voice and holds your place when you go off script |
| Where the voice is heard | On the device only, with no server to fall back to | On the device, by their page ("does not require the internet") |
| Voice languages | The script's language, where Apple has an on-device model (35 of the app's 41) | English, Spanish, French, Russian and German on their site; "English only" on the App Store listing |
| Mirroring for glass | Left to right and top to bottom, separately | "Invert text" |
| Clean feed to a second display | Yes, with its own mirror switches | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Record under the lens | iPhone and iPad, 1080p or 4K at 24, 25 or 30 fps | Selfie Mode, HD video beside the text |
| Remotes | Watch, keyboards and pedals you can remap, media remotes, game controllers, a browser, Contour Shuttle on the Mac | A separate Remote Control app; a web Control Room on Team |
| Several devices on one script | Up to 8 by default (1 to 16), as remote, monitor or editor | Remote app and web Control Room |
| Run orders | Yes, with automatic advance | Not stated |
| Imports | Word, PDF text, PowerPoint speaker notes, Final Draft, Fountain, RTF, text | Word, PDF (read with OCR), RTF, text, Google Docs, and Drive, OneDrive, Box, Dropbox, iCloud |
| After the take | .srt captions timed from the scroll; Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve markers | Not stated |
| Free to use | No. Locked until bought or signed in with Cutvey | PromptSmart Lite, one script at a time |
Voice follow and VoiceTrack, honestly
This is the question most people bring to this page, so here is how the two differ.
VoiceTrack aims to be hands free from the first word. You start talking, the script moves; you stop, it stops; you wander off for a sentence and it holds your place until you come back. For a solo talk to a phone where nobody else is in the room, that is a real convenience, and nothing in Cutvey Teleprompter does the first part. PromptSmart's listing recommends about 30 minutes of continuous VoiceTrack and scripts up to 5,000 words.
Cutvey's voice follow starts from your speed. Press play (on the screen, the Watch, a pedal or a remote) and the scroll runs at the pace you set. Voice follow listens with Apple's speech recognition on the device, matches your last dozen words to the script, and nudges the speed up or down four times a second so the line you are reading stays on the reading line. Go quiet and the scroll eases down and waits. A cough or an aside leaves it alone. Skip ahead more than about four sentences and you move it yourself, and it picks up from there. It records nothing, it never needs a network, and it is off until you turn it on.
Why build it that way? On a shoot the person reading is rarely the only one who needs the prompter to behave. An operator, a director or a producer wants to know that the scroll will not leap because someone in the room said a word from page three. Starting from a set pace keeps the prompter predictable for them, and voice follow makes it feel like it is listening to you. How voice follow works, in full.
One real job, both ways
A marketing lead records a four-minute product update at her desk. The script is a Word file from legal, she is filming on an iPhone, and the video team wants captions and the cue points for the edit.
With Cutvey Teleprompter. She opens the Word file and the headings keep their bold. She marks each of the five sections as a cue, gives the legal paragraph a slower speed of its own, and turns on Camera: 4K at 30 frames a second, front camera, three lines beside the lens. Voice follow is on. She presses play on her Watch, reads, and stumbles on a product name in section three. Stop on the Watch ends the take and saves it to Photos. She taps the stopped script, fixes the word right there on the prompter at reading size, goes back to the first line and presses play for a clean second take. After it she exports an .srt with the script's own words and a Premiere Pro marker file with one marker per section, both counted from the second take's first frame, since captions and markers describe the take they were read in. The edit starts with the captions and the cuts already placed.
With PromptSmart. She imports the same file, starts talking and VoiceTrack moves with her, so she never presses play at all. When she stumbles she can pause and carry on. She records in Selfie Mode. For captions and markers she would use another tool after the take, since we found neither on PromptSmart's pages.
Both get her a good read. PromptSmart is the easier start; Cutvey Teleprompter gives the edit more to work with and costs less to own.
When to choose PromptSmart
- You want the prompter to start and stop with your voice, with no button at all.
- You present on Windows or Android, or a producer will run the prompter from a web browser somewhere else (PromptSmart+ Team's Control Room).
- Your scripts live in Google Docs or a cloud drive and you want to pull them straight in.
- You want a free app for one script at a time (PromptSmart Lite).
Where Cutvey Teleprompter falls short
- No hands-free start. Voice follow only trims the speed. Someone or something presses play.
- Apple devices only. There is no Android, Windows or web prompter. A browser can drive the prompter from any computer, but it shows controls and clocks, never the script.
- No free version. The app is free to download and locked until you buy it once or sign in with a Cutvey plan that includes it.
- No Google Docs or cloud-drive import. Export to Word first, or open the file from the Files app.
- No reading of scanned PDFs. A PDF that is only pictures has no text to bring in.
- A new app. Version 1.0 has no App Store ratings yet; PromptSmart has years of them.
Where Cutvey Teleprompter leads
- The price. $19.99 once for every Apple device on your account, with nothing to add later.
- The Mac. A native Mac app with Call mode under the camera, a clean feed window for a second display, keep on top and window opacity, and the Contour ShuttlePro jog wheel.
- More than one device. Run the script on an iPad in the rig, follow it on a monitor iPhone, and let a producer fix a line from a MacBook while you read. How sessions work.
- The edit. Captions and markers for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve from the run itself.
- Screenplays and decks. Final Draft and Fountain keep their shape, and a PowerPoint brings its speaker notes with a cue per slide.
Questions people ask
Is Cutvey Teleprompter a PromptSmart alternative?
Yes, for anyone on iPhone, iPad and Mac. It costs $19.99 once for every Apple device on the account, where PromptSmart sells an app plus optional subscriptions, and it adds a native Mac app, the Watch remote, sessions between devices and captions for the edit. Choose PromptSmart if you need voice that starts and stops the scroll, or Windows and Android.
Does Cutvey's voice follow work offline?
Yes. Recognition runs on the device with no server to fall back to, so it needs no connection. It works in the script's language wherever Apple ships an on-device model for that language on that device, and is not available in Slovenian, Lithuanian, Latvian, Estonian, Bulgarian or Farsi.
Can I move my PromptSmart scripts across?
Export them as Word (.docx), RTF or text and import them. Word keeps its bold and headings; RTF keeps bold, italic, underline, size and alignment.