Teleprompter / Compare / vs BIGVU
Cutvey Teleprompter vs BIGVU
BIGVU is a video-marketing suite with a teleprompter inside, on a plan from $12 a month, with AI editing, avatars and posting. Cutvey Teleprompter is $19.99 once for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch, built for the read and the shoot: rigs, remotes, several devices and captions for your own editor.
On this page
Prices and features checked November 2, 2026, on each maker's own page or its US App Store listing.
What BIGVU is
BIGVU has more US App Store ratings than any other app that comes up for "teleprompter": 36,263 on November 2, 2026. It is a video-marketing suite with a teleprompter recorder inside. Around the prompter it offers an eye-contact fix, captions, background replacement, AI avatars, voice cloning and social posting, on iOS, Android and the web.
Cutvey Teleprompter is a teleprompter first and last. It reads, it records under the lens on iPhone and iPad, it runs a shoot across several devices, and it gives the take to your editor. It has no AI at all.
So this comparison is less about which prompter is better and more about which job you are doing.
What each one costs
| Product | Price as printed | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Cutvey Teleprompter | $19.99 once, in the US (local prices elsewhere). iPhone, iPad, Mac and the Watch remote. | App Store |
| BIGVU Free | $0 | bigvu.tv/pricing |
| BIGVU Starter | $12 a month, or $149 a year | bigvu.tv/pricing |
| BIGVU AI Pro | $19 a month, or $229 a year | bigvu.tv/pricing |
| BIGVU Max | $49 a month, or $589 a year | bigvu.tv/pricing |
| BIGVU Super Agent | $239 a month, or $2,868 a year | bigvu.tv/pricing |
| BIGVU, iOS in-app purchases | Including Starter Monthly $24.99, Pro 6 Month $99.99, Pro Yearly $139.99 | App Store, id1124958568 |
The App Store prices differ from the web prices, so check which you are paying before you subscribe.
Side by side
| Cutvey Teleprompter | BIGVU | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A teleprompter for reading and recording | A video-marketing suite with a teleprompter recorder |
| Price model | $19.99 once | Free tier; $12 to $239 a month |
| iPhone and iPad | Yes | Yes |
| Mac | A native Mac app, same purchase | The iPad app on Apple silicon Macs |
| Android and web | No (a browser can be a remote) | Yes |
| Apple Watch remote | Yes | Not listed |
| Voice scrolling | Voice follow on the device, trims the speed | Not confirmed on BIGVU's own pages |
| Mirroring for glass | Both axes, plus a clean feed to a second display | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Recording | iPhone and iPad, 1080p or 4K at 24, 25 or 30 fps | Yes |
| Editing, avatars, voice clone, posting | No | Yes |
| Captions | .srt timed from the scroll, the script's own words | Automatic captions |
| Edit markers | Premiere Pro CSV and DaVinci Resolve EDL | Not stated |
| Remotes | Watch, keys and pedals, clickers, media remotes, game controllers, browser, Contour Shuttle on the Mac | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Several devices on one script | Up to 8 by default | Not stated |
| Account needed | No | Yes |
| AI | None | Throughout |
Who each one is for
BIGVU suits a solo marketer who wants one place to go from a script to a posted, captioned video, and who wants help along the way: a fixed eyeline, a new background, a generated voice. The teleprompter is one step of that line.
Cutvey Teleprompter suits people who care about the read and the shoot, and who already have somewhere to edit: presenters, interview and corporate shooters, video teams, and creators who cut in Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Final Cut Pro or CapCut. It keeps everything about the read in your hands, from the speed of each section to who in the room can change the words, and it never touches your face or your voice.
One real job, both ways
A nonprofit's comms officer films a two-minute appeal in a community hall, with a volunteer shooting on a mirrorless camera, an iPad behind the glass and a second iPhone for the volunteer to watch.
With Cutvey Teleprompter. The iPad hosts, mirrored for the glass. The volunteer's iPhone joins as a monitor and shows exactly where the speaker is, so the volunteer knows when to push in on the last line. The speaker holds a cheap Bluetooth clicker taught to start and stop. After the take the iPad exports an .srt, and the volunteer drops it under the camera footage in DaVinci Resolve.
With BIGVU. BIGVU is built around recording on the phone or tablet itself, then editing and posting in BIGVU. For a mirrorless camera behind glass it is not the natural fit: we found no mirroring, clean feed or multi-device session on its pages. Where it would shine is a fast phone-only version of the appeal, captioned and posted from one app.
Eye contact, two ways
Looking at the lens is the hard part of reading to a camera, and the two apps solve it from opposite ends.
BIGVU fixes it after the fact: its AI eye-contact feature adjusts where your eyes appear to look in the recording. That can rescue a take read from a phone held at an angle.
Cutvey Teleprompter keeps the words where your eyes should be in the first place. When you record on iPhone or iPad, the script shrinks to a strip of two, three or four lines right beside the lens, so your gaze barely moves. Behind beam-splitter glass the words sit over the lens itself, and nothing needs fixing. On a Mac call, Call mode parks a short strip of the script under the built-in camera. The recording stays exactly what the camera saw, which matters to a client who wants untouched footage, and to anyone who would rather not have software redraw their face.
Neither approach is wrong. If you read from a phone at arm's length and post the same day, BIGVU's fix is quick. If you shoot for a client or a brand, the words in the right place are the cleaner answer. How far off the lens your eyes go.
What three years cost
| Year one | Three years | |
|---|---|---|
| Cutvey Teleprompter | $19.99 | $19.99 once in total |
| BIGVU Starter, billed yearly | $149 | $447 |
| BIGVU AI Pro, billed yearly | $229 | $687 |
| BIGVU Max, billed yearly | $589 | $1,767 |
These are list prices from BIGVU's page on November 2, 2026, before any tax, and its App Store prices differ. The comparison is only fair if you would not use BIGVU's editing and AI tools, which is what most of each plan pays for.
Moving from BIGVU
Copy your scripts out as text or Word files and import them; Word keeps its bold and headings. Your recordings stay wherever BIGVU saved them. In Cutvey Teleprompter new takes go to your Photos, so they are already where your editor looks for them, and each take's captions can be exported as an .srt in your own words.
Accounts and what leaves your device
BIGVU needs an account, and its editing, avatars and posting run as a service. That is part of what it is.
Cutvey Teleprompter needs no account at all if you buy it. Scripts sync through your own private iCloud, which Cutvey cannot read. Voice follow listens on the device and records nothing. Takes go to your Photos with add-only access: the app can put a take there and cannot read anything else in your library. Sessions between your devices run on your own network and never pass through a Cutvey server, so pair only devices you trust on a network you trust. The one thing the app can send Cutvey is crash and usage reports, and only if you leave them on at the first screen. They carry no account identifier, never your scripts, recordings or voice, and your data is never sold. For a brand, an agency or a client with a confidential script, that is a short conversation with legal.
When to choose BIGVU
- You are a solo creator or marketer and want script, record, edit and post in one subscription.
- You want AI help with eye contact, backgrounds, avatars or voice.
- You work on Android or the web.
Where Cutvey Teleprompter falls short
- Nothing after the take. No editing, no background replacement, no posting, no captions from speech. The captions are your script's words, timed from the scroll.
- Apple only, with no web or Android prompter.
- No free version, and no ratings yet for version 1.0.
- No cloud collaboration. Sessions run on the local network.
Where Cutvey Teleprompter leads
- The price. $19.99 once against a monthly plan.
- Rigs and crews. Mirroring, a clean feed, monitor and editor devices, and a host that can hand the session to another device mid-take.
- Remotes. The Watch, pedals, clickers and the Contour ShuttlePro, with the keys yours to choose.
- Privacy. No account, no AI, voice follow on the device, scripts in your own iCloud. Crash and usage reports are your choice on the first screen and never carry your scripts, recordings or voice.
How to read a teleprompter naturally ยท Remotes for a teleprompter
Questions people ask
Is Cutvey Teleprompter a BIGVU alternative?
For the teleprompter part, yes, on Apple devices: $19.99 once with recording, mirroring, voice follow and remotes. It does not edit, post or offer AI features, which are most of what BIGVU's plans pay for.
Does Cutvey Teleprompter use AI?
No. Voice follow is Apple's on-device speech recognition plus a word-matching step and a speed controller. There is no AI or machine learning model in the app.